Early Years

Early Years Curriculum

In Nursery and Reception children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). The Early Years Foundation Stage is the stage of education for children from birth to the end of the Reception year. It is based on the recognition that children learn best through play and active learning.

The Learning Environment

The learning environment is key to a child’s progress. A rich and varied environment supports children’s learning and development. It gives them the confidence to explore and learn in secure and safe, yet challenging, indoor and outdoor spaces. The indoor learning environment provides a safe, secure yet challenging space for children to learn. It contains resources which are appropriate, well maintained and accessible for all children. The outdoor learning environment has a positive impact on children’s sense of well-being and offers opportunities for doing things in different ways and on different scales than when indoors.

EYFS Themes

There are four themes which underpin our Early Years and Foundation Stage curriculum:

  • A unique child - every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured
  • Positive relationships - a key worker has special responsibility for working with a small number of children giving them reassurance to feel safe and cared for and building relationships with their parents or carers
  • Enabling environments - we provide a rich and varied environment which supports children's learning and development. It gives them the confidence to explore and learn in secure and safe yet challenging, indoor and outdoor space.
  • Learning and development - Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. In their play children learn at their highest levels. We provide wide-ranging and varied interests that engage and involve children for sustained periods.

Learning and Development

Within the theme of Learning and Development there are seven areas. They are split into ‘Prime’ and ‘Specific’ areas.

Prime Areas

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  2. Physical Development
  3. Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding of the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design

Early Learning Goals

The EYFS Profile is an assessment of each child’s progress towards the early learning goals. The children’s development is monitored regularly throughout the year. In the first few weeks we will be supporting the children through the ‘Starting School Framework’ by using the information gathered through stay and play sessions, home visits, new parent meetings and transition records to plan for the developmental needs of the unique child.

"Leaders and members of the governing body have created an ambitious curriculum, including in the early years."

- Ofsted, 2022